all views are welcome, let's use two wings to soar!

Behold, All Things are New!

In Church and State, Gratitude, Holidays on December 31, 2009 at 9:11 am

Revelation 21:5 seems an apt verse as the millennium has now completed decade number one.

“Behold, I am making all things new.” Also he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.”

Prior to Lifted on Eagle’s Wings conception, I had spent quite a bit of smug time disregarding “right wing Christians”. I am strong in my faith and let “them” have theirs. Nevertheless, it bothered me. I was troubled that I could not understand so many people who were proud in their faith. I kept thinking that there ought to be common ground since we are all Christians.

Then, over the summer, my own denomination, the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America, made the decision to ordain gay ministers. The resolution narrowly passed and the church has been set into turmoil with differences of opinion.  I exchanged several emails with my pastor, and while we do not agree on this topic, we discussed it peacefully. I understand why he believes as he does. It does not mean I have the same opinion, but I see the other side. 

That discussion sparked a desire to talk about more topics that are divisive. Through discourse, I believe we can find understanding. However, religion and politics are taboo unless the parties agree ahead of time to discuss them. That was the impetus behind our blog and Facebook page. When our mutual friend introduced me to Cara, I assumed she would be of the same mindset as I, since our friend declared we had much in common. When my shock wore off that we were politically opposite, I realized that God brought an opportunity into our lives. 

In an interview with Bill O’Reilly, Dennis Kucinich stated, “You know, first of all, the American eagle needs two wings to fly.” That sentence resonated with me and the church song “On Eagle’s Wings” always moves me to tears. I believe that we have a chance to use our faith to discuss our differences of opinion without anger.  The eagle is a perfect symbol of our shared faith and our mutual national pride. With only one wing, an eagle would fly in circles, but with two strong wings on each side, the eagle soars with dignity and grace.

The past two months have been incredible. I am learning to listen with an open heart and open mind. I no longer consider “them” as anything other than my brothers and sisters in Christ. We are all God’s children and He has given us a shining chance to learn through His word and our amazingly diverse viewpoints. I am learning the true meaning of loving with an open hand. All friends are welcome to participate in our dialogue.

As we enter a new decade, I am enthusiastic and filled with joy at the prospect of continued friendship, love and conversation. Thank you to all our friends, readers, and contributors. May your last day of 2009 be filled with many blessings and may the blessings continue into 2010.

 

Share

  1. Blessings to you and yours as well!

    Yanno, my brother has taught me a great deal about patience (lo, how little I have!) with differing view points. We are on absolute opposite ends of the spectrum in terms of theology, but I can’t rage at him for being one of “them.” Not only is he my flesh and blood, he is also one of the most loving, joyful, amazing human beings on this planet. Although I don’t understand why he believes a great deal of what he believes, I do know, without question, that it comes from a place of profound love. (But I’ll still argue with him! ha!)

  2. Thank you so much, my friend. I think our duty as Christians is to grasp that thin thread of agreement and hold on. If we remember that we follow Jesus FIRST before the rest of the stuff, I think we indeed will find a place of love. 🙂

  3. Kim; How interesting this “connection” has become. I often express that the social gathering taboo topics of Money, Religion, and Politics are the Only things I really enjoy discussing. Perhaps a bit of an exageration, tis not far from the truth in reality.

    Back in 2004 I attended a function called a “Listening Circle” at a world church function. I chose to sit beside, and therefore interact with, the most controversial appearing, lesbian in the room. While my overall evaluation of the project was not positive, my experience with the woman was just the opposite. From that experience I determined to expand my “opposites” search to a broader spectrum. I sought out “flaming liberals” on line for instance in and attempt to calmly, courteously, discuss political issues. This has been a project of mine in ernest since that time. I have developed some rather interesting friendships and have, believe it or not, actually had one or two “mind changing” experiences where my own opinions became augmented. The truth is, we can change, even if we don’t want to.

    When you and Cara started this page I must admit to a genuine excitement on my part. Kudos to you both and to all who choose to participate in a wholesome manner. I will consider myself perhaps, one of the “founding fans”. If we accomplish nothing more, we will at the very least encourage our own passionate but polite discourse.

  4. Thank you so much Hawken for your continued participation. Like you, I enjoy discussing politics and religion, especially with people who have different opinions. To me, it helps me gain a better understanding of my own opinions as well as grow empathy for theirs. I feel that in a world of so many divisions, we have a duty to start with our commonalities and branch out from there. It’s the only way to true unity, I believe.

    To a wonderful and growing dialogue in 2010!

Leave a Reply

